Skip to content

“This Is Sparta!”

March 11, 2007

the_300_spartans_copy.jpg

“Spartans! Enjoy your breakfast, for tonight we dine in Hell!”

I for one can not wait to see300 Spartans! I am an odd girl maybe, for I love films that showcase famous battles. Especially historical ones.

Here is a taste…

I was planing on posting the youtube videoclip as a quickie stand alone posting. The following linked content adds more punch. Now I would never of put the two films “Dawn of the Dead” and “300 Spartans” together. But in fact director Zack Snyder was involved in the making of both. And had it not been for Ace of Ace of Spades HQ, I still would not have.

I love it! Their stamp of dis-approval equals a two-thumbs up in my book. :=)

“300” Seen As Pro-Defense-of-Civilization Propaganda, And The Left Doesn’t Like It One Bit

By the white beard of Zeus! And I thought we were just talking about a movie here! I thought artists had be permitted the freedom to explore controversial ideas!

Now come to your own conclusions as to any metaphorical context on either film. I wonder if this t-shirt worn by Snyder during an interview for ifilm has a hidden meaning behind it or is just a mere coincidence. major-league-infidel.jpg

Wear this one to your next mandatory voluntary cultural-diversity-sensitivity training event session.

[Ace also has the vid of the interview.]

It get’s better. Watching from the sidelines at the attitudes reflected towards this film. It is as always glaringly transparent whose side they cheer for.

Awesome: Amateur Leftist Webzine Slate’s Politically-Corrupted And Pussified Reviewer Hates “300” With A Passion Usually Reserved For Bush

Ah, the twitty little snots at Slate, all trying so hard to ape Michael Kinsley’s snideness without having the deftness or talent to carry it off charmingly. Where every book, tv show, and movie is evaluated entirely according to how it flatters, or discomfits, their left-liberal mocha-marxist politics.

Weekend Preview March 9: 300 Spartans Versus Millions of Moviegoers – MaryAnn Johanson, Mar 09, 2007

…but how lots of folks are either praising or damning the film for supporting the war in Iraq on the whole or the proposed troop surge in particular. Don’t believe them — it will require some tortured thinking and mischaracterization of exactly what we’re doing in Iraq to justify such an interpretation of the film. Not that tortured thinking and mischaracterization would be anything new when it comes to this issue, but still. To me, the film is a reminder that even during a war worth fighting, twisting of the truth by those in power is inevitable. And here’s a measure of comparison: Imagine how silly it’s gonna look when someone makes a heroic drama about the “sacrifices” Americans were asked to make in the “War on Terror.” Imagine Gerard Butler yelling, “THIS IS SHOPPING!” and try not to laugh.

It is always about the war. To much to ask for them to root for OUR side for a change? Their view is a myopic one at best. Why can’t a dramatic piece of history be just that a piece of history? After all left leaning movies wouldn’t have an agenda behind them. Or would they?

‘300’ Takes Top Spot at Box Office With $70 Million

Vindicated!!! In your face leftards! Now if it were to only be at least nominated, for an Oscar. Possible in lala land? Doubtful the way the wind keeps shifting farther and farther left. But a girl can dream.. right?

More detailed commentary…

300, The Movie, The History, The Reviews – Right Truth

PtM at the Movies: 300 – Provoking the Muse

At that place in time Sparta. Now modern Western civilization?

24 Comments
  1. March 12, 2007 6:53 am

    Can’t wait to see it!

  2. March 12, 2007 8:55 am

    Neither can I. It looks great.

  3. March 12, 2007 11:20 am

    I don’t trot to the theatre for no really good reason.

    I always go with my wife, and I always have a large popcorn with extra yellow, greasy stuff and added salt, a large coke, and Cindy has a large bottled water, along with some raisinettes.

    Total: around $30. So, it had better be a great movie.

    I’m assuming this one fits the bill.

    Hank

  4. March 12, 2007 3:20 pm

    Thanks for the mention. The more I read about the movie, them more I want to see it. I guess hubby and I will have to trek off to the theater. What do folks think about taking 10 year old kids to see it? I’ve heard from one source to leave kids home?

  5. March 12, 2007 3:57 pm

    Debbie
    This is an excellent site to help one judge, what may or may not be suitable for children.
    This link goes directly to the page on “300”
    Pluggedin Online
    http://www.pluggedinonline.com/movies/movies/a0003125.cfm
    I hope this helps. 🙂

  6. March 12, 2007 4:09 pm

    Outstanding film and an epic achievement to say the least. The battle sequences were orchestrated like a stylishly muscular ballet carved out in several acts. I will see it agin for the week is over. A big screen must see. Girls will like it too! 🙂

  7. March 12, 2007 4:16 pm

    Thanks for the review hun!..aw now I have to see it..heh 🙂

  8. March 12, 2007 6:10 pm

    Thanks for the link. I’m headed over there now.

  9. March 12, 2007 6:43 pm

    Oh wow. No way our 10 year old grandson sees that movie. Thanks so much for the link. I hope others will check it out before taking children, even young teens.

  10. March 13, 2007 9:23 am

    This movie should definitely be enjoyed with LOTS of popcorn. The greasier the better.

  11. March 13, 2007 11:03 am

    It should be out here in Australia in a week or two. can’t wait.

  12. March 13, 2007 12:14 pm

    TTF I’m guessing you enjoyed the film. 🙂
    Fang let us all know what you think when you do get to see it, ok?

  13. March 13, 2007 7:30 pm

    I saw it this weekend and I recommend it. The fights were brutal and a tad overdone but they were Spartans and it was easy to believe such men could accomplish extraordinary feats. The story does seem to parallel today’s reality with a small percentage of Americans (and others) facing a seemingly unstoppable number of crazed Persians (and other Islamic Radicals). I have seen comments both on blogs and television attempting to draw that parallel but it is not that easy. The tough talks the timeworn clichés and even the age-old struggle for freedom is all-historically accurate. Historical accounts show the Spartans were just as determined to remain free as we are today. If there is a parallel it is simply evil has to confronted and stopped if free people have any hope of maintaining their freedom. I sat with an Intel professional from CENTCOM his comment was “wow they were crazy even before they were Shia”. That battle happened almost a thousand years before the Muslim hordes beat and dominated the Persians. I saw on the news Iran’s Prophet President did not like the movie. My guess is because he knows his culture did not stand up to evil, they embraced it and in doing so-became it. Somewhere maybe there are 300 modern day Spartans who can bring Iran back from the brink and save Iran from the grip of Islamonazis. At least we can hope. Go see the movie but if you have children get a sitter. This is not a movie for children.

  14. March 13, 2007 8:00 pm

    Wow! Thanks Ronin, for taking the time to post your experience and insight. I enjoyed reading your thoughts. Very much so!

  15. March 14, 2007 4:54 pm

    Well thanks for that, I just call it like I see it.

  16. March 16, 2007 6:13 pm

    The movie was good, but don’t go into it thinking “history”. It is more like lored of the rings then the battle of Thermopylae.

  17. Duncan permalink
    March 22, 2007 12:34 pm

    It says R, that means you SHOULDN’T TAKE KIDS TO SEE IT. You do not need a website to teach you common sense. Guess what people? Somethings just aren’t that complicated. People talking about history.. it says “BASED ON A COMIC.”

    Don’t be stupid.

  18. March 22, 2007 6:20 pm

    Excuse me? How rude. Why do you pop in here and speak to us all with that level of disrespect? You could of just as easily made your point w/o being so nasty. BTW Typing in all caps with the intentions you had behind your words is considered to be”yelling”.

    It is a movie for God’s sake.

  19. Julianos permalink
    March 23, 2007 7:46 pm

    Spartans! Enjoy your breakfast, for tonight we dine in Hell!
    I went and saw this movie at IMAX. It was the best movie I have ever seen. I would like to see it again and again till my eyes cry tears of blood for the glory of the Spartans, the greatest warriors the earth has ever seen!

    Who is with me!

  20. March 23, 2007 8:44 pm

    Thank you for sharing Julianos. 🙂

  21. March 28, 2007 3:49 am

    The poster you added is silly. Only has 6 Spartans on it.

  22. March 28, 2007 2:58 pm

    LOL Thanks for taking the time to point that out.
    You’ve a keen eye.

  23. Sperestillan permalink
    May 20, 2007 7:08 pm

    This is a good thread, and the film is truly excellent. But in other ways this thread gave me such a laugh.
    This came across as really sweet:

    “Excuse me? How rude.”

    Velvethammer, you’re such a girl, lol. But I mean that in a very nice way.

    And Darius’ comment was funny, lol!

  24. velvethammer permalink
    May 20, 2007 9:59 pm

    Thanks Sperestillan
    I was hoping you would find this thread. I am glad you enjoyed it.
    Hey, the dude was rude. lol I am not offended. Yes that Darius is one funny guy.
    Now I sit here wondering how 300 Spartans could of fit in that image… 😉

Comments are closed.

