Skip to content

Video: Obama Flubs Oath of Office [Update 2: Obama does not blame Roberts]

January 20, 2009


Link @YouTube

Update:
Transcript courtesy of The Volokh Conspiricy

“I do solemnly swear (or affirm) that I will faithfully execute the office of President of the United States, and will to the best of my ability, preserve, protect and defend the Constitution of the United States.”

Here is the transcript (which does not indicate the President pausing to enable the Chief Justice to correct himself):

ROBERTS: Are you prepared to take the oath, Senator?
OBAMA: I am.
ROBERTS: I, Barack Hussein Obama…
OBAMA: I, Barack…
ROBERTS: … do solemnly swear…
OBAMA: I, Barack Hussein Obama, do solemnly swear…
ROBERTS: … that I will execute the office of president to the United States faithfully
OBAMA: … that I will execute…
ROBERTS: … faithfully the office of president of the United States
OBAMA: … the office of president of the United States faithfully
ROBERTS: … and will to the best of my ability…
OBAMA: … and will to the best of my ability…
ROBERTS: … preserve, protect and defend the Constitution of the United States.
OBAMA: … preserve, protect and defend the Constitution of the United States.
ROBERTS: So help you God?
OBAMA: So help me God.
ROBERTS: Congratulations, Mr. President


Update 2:

President Obama isn’t blaming Supreme Court Chief Justice John Roberts for slipping up as he recited the president oath of office during Tuesday’s inauguration ceremony.

H/T Flap

Related:
Inauguration Benediction – Rev. Lowery
Barack Obama’s Inauguration Speech 2009 [Transcript]


Leave a Comment
  1. January 20, 2009 5:10 pm

    In his defense (one of the few times I’ll do this), Chief Justice Roberts flubbed it up too.

    Shane Vander Hart’s last blog post..Obama’s Inaugural Address

Comments are closed.

