Skip to content

Al Gore's Current TV Blackout On Journalists Held In North Korea

June 9, 2009

Gore’s Global Fraud is more important dontcha know. There is far to much money to be made running a global scam! So what is a pair of female journos taken by the commie whackjobs in North Korea to Al Gore? Collateral damage? Cold stony heart that one. But don’t dare question his love for Mother Earth.

To be clear I did not expect Gore to go all Rambo on North Korea.

BUT….

Al Gore silent as his journalists are sentenced to 12 years hard labor

The two reporters for Al Gore’s TV Current, an on-line journal based in San Francisco, who have been held since March, were found guilty of illegal entry and sentenced to 12 years hard labor, the North Korean news agency said on Monday.

Al Gore and his on-line network have yet to speak out on the actions by the North Korean government  — the arrest and now the sentencing.

The pair, Laura Ling and Euna Lee, were arrested by the North Korean authorities on March 17, after traveling through northern China to the North Korean border to do a story on trafficking of North Korean women.

They may not have even been in North Korea at the time of their arrest. North Korean border guards probably crossed the Tumen (the river that forms the border) while Ling and Lee were filming on the Chinese bank, according to Reporters without Borders.

There were many comments to my April 21, 2009 post when I criticized Gore for failing to speak out on behalf of his journalists.  Several irate readers assured us that negotiations were occurring behind the scenes.

Then on June 4, 2009 Reuters reported that the U.S. might send former vice president Al Gore to Pyongyang in order to negotiate the release of two American journalists on trial in North Korea for illegal entry.

Too little and too late. […]

I visited Current TV and ran a search for Laura Ling and Euna Lee. Surprise surprise I came up empty.

The only result that did appear is this lone “response” which was posted this evening.
What should Obama do about North Korea?

Why won’t current comment on Laura Ling and Euna Lee? Or even let anyone speak of it.



I wonder how long the above post will stay up?

Update:

S.F.-Based Current TV Censoring Stories About Its Jailed Reporters

The online news source has been very hush hush about the whole ordeal so far, and has yet to report anything about the incident on their website.  Also, Al Gore is still staying quiet despite his role as chairman of Current TV.  When asked about whether the news station had anything to say about removing news about the trial from its site, Current TV representative “Brent” told SF Weekly that the answer to all questions was still a very non-transparent: “no comment.”

Related:

Global Fraud Al Gore Supports “Cap and Trade” No Debate About It

Climate Change: The Forces of Darkness vs. Age of Enlightenment and Reason

President Vaclav Klaus: “Europe Environmentalism and the Current Economic Crisis A Contrarian View””

Video: Introducing “The Goode Family”

3 Comments
  1. Sharli Miller permalink
    June 10, 2009 12:51 pm

    2nd try. You didn’t like my first e-mail address. I hate it when I rant and it disappears. Now I have to remember everything with the same gusto.
    You took the thoughts and words, I have been ranting about for the last week, right out of my mouth! I, too, went to Current with my questions to no avail. I emailed them with no reply. I did not know until a few days ago that Al Gore and Joel Hyatt led the Current empire. Which explains the fact that, although I enjoyed a good viewer created piece from around the world, I always felt like a shower afterward. lol I know, kinda harsh. I’m venting my frustration at this whole NK business…. because I can. God Bless America.

  2. June 10, 2009 1:51 pm

    Sharli
    Sorry about your trouble. But thanks for not giving up. Vent away! I find the entire silent treatment of Laura Ling and Euna Lee’s story on the very news outlet they work for to be reprehensible. I am active on twitter and sent a link to this post to Current and Al Gore, to no avail. Shocking I know. 🙄

    When asked about whether the news station had anything to say about removing news about the trial from its site, Current TV representative “Brent” told SF Weekly that the answer to all questions was still a very non-transparent: “no comment.”

    “no comment” WTH? Despicable!

  3. September 10, 2009 4:46 pm

    Its horribly that those journalists should have to pay for other peoples actions. I’m sure it was not their idea to report on the border and get taken into custody. I’m sure North Korea has thousands of similar foreign imprisonments in their prison cells.

    Watch Castle Episodes Online
    http://www.castle-episodes.com

Comments are closed.

